Pride and Prejudice


pride-and-prejudice

I am alone at home again and again. I strongly believe that I deserve a certificate for being most well-prepared future housewife for taking care my parents’ home every time they go out of town and leave me alone like now. My sister and my brother are also not at home, so, yeah, I am literally alone and am really trying hard not to be an idiot for knowing nothing to do at all but cleaning every inch of the house and suddenly feeling like a well trained maid now.

Thank God, I am a blogger. This afternoon I realized that I have one thing I really want to talk about and it is about one of my most favorite love story ever, Pride and Prejudice. I should have talked about it since years ago, but I myself do not know why I want to talk about it just now😛

Pride and Prejudice made me in love since the very first time I knew it. I was still a student when I first met this story from its novel that my friend lent me. After the novel, I watched the movie from 2005 where the chemistry between Keira Knightley as Elizabeth Bennet and Matthew Macfadyen as Mr. Darcy took my breath away even until now every time I re-watch this movie―because once is seriously never enough for this movie. I may be bowed to Jane Austen if she was still alive and I was lucky to meet her.

What makes me so in love about this story, both novel and movie? Hmm, I can say that this is the best story of love in literature world. You name Romeo and Juliet, I will name Lizzy Bennet and Mr. Darcy. Since I knew Pride and Prejudice, Romeo and Juliet story became so lame, weird, and fool. I mean, how come these two silly lovey dovey decide to marry after one night meeting only? And they were just too young, under 20 years old, but they are not to blame, Shakespeare is.

So, Pride and Prejudice is actually a very old story from the late of 18th century when even my grandparents were not born yet. For those who love literature, it is always on “must read list” because you can learn so many things from this book. Love, gender issue, and history, especially. I almost use that matter of gender issue for my thesis if my senior was not taking it before me. However, what attracts me so much about Pride and Prejudice is the love story between Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy. They come from two different social classes, which Mr. Darcy is richer than Ms. Bennet, and it is what makes the story worth reading since this kind of thing happens even until this very century.

Mr. Darcy, who could get any girl he wants, fall in love with the stubborn Ms. Bennet. But, what’s love story without any trouble? Social status is just one of the problem he must face to get Ms. Bennet’s heart. There are still his aunt, Lady Catherine de Bourgh―who wants him to marry her daughter―, Lieutenant Wickham―a greedy officer from Mr. Darcy’s past who tries to separate him and Ms. Bennet, and Ms. Bennet herself. Mr. Darcy’s struggle to get the love of his life is really something every man nowadays must learn. He does not care if his first proposal is declined by Ms. Bennet who thinks he is a mean guy, he keeps trying. He put aside all the things in this world just to be with Ms. Bennet and who could mention another more romantic thing than what he does? He does not care about his family’s expectation, he does not care about what society would say, he does not care if Ms. Bennet was not born in a rich family, he cares about his love only and he fights for it. What a lucky Ms. Bennet to get that kind of love. Jealous to her😦

“Miss Elizabeth. I have struggled in vain and I can bear it no longer. These past months have been a torment. I came to Rosings with the single object of seeing you… I had to see you. I have fought against my better judgment, my family’s expectations, the inferiority of your birth by rank and circumstance. All these things I am willing to put aside and ask you to end my agony. I love you.” – Mr. Darcy

I also adore Ms. Bennet for being a stubborn person. I mean, she has a strong commitment to herself to marry only for love, not for wealth or social status. In the era of this story, every girl was forced to marry a wealthy man for her family and her pride. But, the pride for Ms. Bennet was not being rich, but to keep standing on what she believes and I adore her determination. It is what later brings her to the deepest love she deserves, Mr. Darcy’s love.

“Only the deepest love will persuade me into matrimony, which is why I will end up an old maid.” – Elizabeth Bennet

From the dialogue I quote above between Ms. Bennet and her sister, Jane Bennet, I think she does not believe that love truly exists or she may believe that she will never get that kind of love in the era where money is everything―well, even until now, Ms. Bennet. She is a bookworm, so, I guess she loves a romance that she better chooses to end up an old maid than to marry without love, which will be done by some other girls who believe true love does exist in this world. Count me in. Seriously. Why do I need to get marry for money or wealth? I am a well-educated maiden, I can earn money by myself, I just need someone to love and to accompany me for the rest of my life. He does not need to be rich, he just need to be educated, has a job, and love me.  So, I think only the deepest love will persuade me into matrimony and I must pray more to ask God for a man like Mr. Darcy to come along😀

Well, I think that is all I want to talk about Pride and Prejudice that I love so much, both novel and movie, especially the 2005 version. Wow, 2005! I just realized it was 10 years ago. But, still, the movie is worth watching until now, not only because of the story, but for a great landscape they capture also. Beautiful is the only word I can use to describe the cinematography in this movie.

So, have a good night, good people.

Tinggalkan Balasan

