The Most Influential Woman


obama & michelleWhen I was younger, I wanted to be the most influential woman in the world. But a virtual conversation (re: chatting) with someone in this very early morning, woke me up.

This someone whose-mind-is-always-thinking asked me what I want to be in this life. I said, I want to be the most influential woman, a wonder woman. Then he mentioned several most influential women.

He mentioned Oprah Winfrey, Mother Teresa, Sri Mulyani (Indonesia Minister of Finance), and Tri Rismaharini (Mayor of Surabaya). Then he said, “all those wonder women are dominant women whose husband always be behind the scene”.

Those words make me thinking.

Deep down, yeah, I really want to be an influential person, an influential woman. But I do realize myself do not want to be a dominant lady or even dominating my (future) husband.

My vision for a perfect household is always a husband holds the power and a wife to support him, not the other way around. Call me old-fashioned, but I still believe in the words “Behind every great man there stands a great woman”.

Those words I find perfectly match Obama and Michelle relationship. Obama as the 44th President of the United States has this great lady named Michelle as his wife. Everyone must remember Obama’s last speech in the end of his reign where he praised Michelle as his wife, a mother of his children, and his best friend who took a role she didn’t ask for, but she made it with grace, grit, style, and good humor (Popsugar). See the picture I put in this post, every woman wishes to be looked at by her man the way Obama looks at Michelle: love and admiration are there.

Michelle, as the first lady, had shown the world her power, not by dominating his husband, but by supporting him. She supported Obama by actively showing her quality as the first lady who is not only a fashion icon, but also a role model for women and an advocate for poverty awareness, nutrition, physical activity, and healthy eating (Wikipedia). How can it be a support? Because a quality of a man can be seen in the appearance of his woman.

So, instead of being like Oprah or Sri Mulyani, I want to be like Michelle for my Obama. I don’t want to dominate him, I will support him instead; use my quality and power to strengthen my man, to make us as an equal partner, then I will be the most influential woman right away. Yeah! 😤

Tinggalkan Balasan

